The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS) is a statutory framework that all preschools, nurseries and schools follow. It sets the standards for learning, development and care from 0 to 5years.

Development is tracked and activities are planned around 7 areas: 

3 prime areas -

  • Communication and language
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development

4 specific areas -

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

EYFS also covers the welfare of children and legal requirements that childcare providers must adhere to.

Information about the EYFS framework can be found at:



What To Expect When – a parents guide to EYFS learning and development.